What Is India News Service
Monday, January 9, 2012


South Indian Inscriptions






List of Plates





The Discovery of the Vakatakas

Vakataka Chronology

The Home of The Vakatakas

Early Rulers

The Main Branch

The Vatsagulma Branch





Architecture, Sculpture and Painting

Texts And Translations  

Inscriptions of The Main Branch

Inscriptions of The Feudatories of The Main Branch

Inscriptions of The Vatsagulma Branch

Inscriptions of The Ministers And Feudatories of The Vatsagulma Branch


Other South-Indian Inscriptions 

Volume I

Volume II

Volume III

Vol. IV - VIII

Volume IX

Volume X

Volume XI

Volume XII

Volume XIII

Volume XIV

Volume XV

Volume XVI

Volume XVII

Volume XVIII

Volume XIX

Volume XX

Volume XXII_Part I

Volume XXII_Part II



Volume XXIII

Volume XXIV

Archaeological Links

Archaeological-Survey of India




...THE country under the direct rule of the two branches of the Vākāṭaka dynasty extended roughly from the Narmadā in the north to the valley of the Gōdāvarī in the south and from the eastern boundary of Ṛishīka (Khāndēsh) in the west to the western boundary of Dakshiṇa Kōsala (Chhattisgaḍh) in the east. This vast territory was divided into a number of rāshṭras, also called rājyas, corresponding to the modern Commissioner’s Divisions, some of which find a mention in our records. We have thus the Pākkaṇa rāshṭra mentioned in the Belorā plates,1 the Bhōjakaṭa rājya in the Chammaka plates2 Vāruchha rājya in the Pāṇḍhurṇā plates3 and the Ārammi rājya in the Dudia and Pāṇḍhurṇā plates.4 In the records of contemporary feudatory families, whose kingdoms were comparatively smaller, the rāshṭra were named after the directions in which they were situated. Thus we find Uttara rāshṭra or Northern Division mentioned in the Bamhanī plates of the Pāṇḍavavaṁśī king Bharatabala,5 and the Pūrva rāshṭra or Eastern Division named in the Ārang plates of Māhā-Jayarāja6 and the Raipur plates of Māhā-Sudēvarāja.7 No such divisions are, however, noticed in the Vākāṭaka grants. The rāshṭras were next divided into a number of vishayas or districts. This appears clear from the statement in the Bamhanī plates that the Pañchagartā vishaya in which the donated village was situated was included in the Uttara rāshṭra (division) of Mekalā.8 The names of vishayas generally ended in kaṭa or kaṭaka. Four such vishayas are named in our records viz. Bhojakaṭa comprising roughly the territory of the modern Amarāvatī District,9 Bennākaṭa corresponding to the modern Bhaṇḍārā and Bālāghāṭ Districts10, Nāṅgarakaṭaka, the exact location of which is uncertain11, and Nāndīkaṭa which comprised the territory round modern Nāndēḍ in the Mahārāshṭra State12. When a vishaya was too large, it was divided into parts which were named after the directions in which they were situated. We thus find the apara-paṭṭa or western division of the Bennākaṭa mentioned in the Tirōḍī one plates13. The vishayas were further sub-divided into āhāras and bhōgas or bhuktis. Only one āhāra viz. the Supratishṭha āhāra is mentioned in our records14. It seems to have comprised parts of the modern Hiṅgaṇghāṭ, Warōḍā and Yeotmāl tahsils of Vidarbha. The relation of āhāra to bhōga is not known. Our records mention three bhōgas viz. Beṇṇākārparabhōga15, Lōhanagarabhoga16

1 No. 5, line 13.
2 No. 6, line 18.
3 No. 14, line 20.
4 No. 10, line 13; No. 14, lines 26 and 29.
5 No. 19, line 34.
6 C.I.I., III, p. 193.
7 Ibid., p. 198.
8 No. 19, lines 34-35.
9 Bhojakaṭa is said to have been founded by Rukmin, the brother-in-law of Kṛishṇa. See Harivaṁśa, Vishṇuparvan, ch. 60, v. 32.
10 No. 11, line 13.
11 No. 24, line 2.
12 No. 23, line 5.
13 No. 11, line 13.
14 No. 2, line 10; No. 3, line 17; No. 12, line 17.
15 No. 7, line 17-18.
16 No. 13, line 20.

Page 2 - >>

Archives | Links | Search
About Us | Feedback | Guestbook

2006 Copyright What Is India Publishers (P) Ltd. All Rights Reserved.