The Indian Analyst

North Indian Inscriptions







List of Maps and Plates


Additions and Corrections



Political History

The Early Silaharas

The Silaharas of North Konkan

The Silaharas of South Konkan

The Silaharas of Kolhapur


Religious Condition

Social Condition

Economic Condition


Architecture and Sculpture

Texts And Translations  

Inscriptions of the Silaharas of North Konkan

Inscriptions of The Silaharas of South Konkan

Inscriptions of The Silaharas of kolhapur


Additional Inscriptions of the Silaharas


A contemporary Yadava Inscription


Other South-Indian Inscriptions 

Volume 1

Volume 2

Volume 3

Vol. 4 - 8

Volume 9

Volume 10

Volume 11

Volume 12

Volume 13

Volume 14

Volume 15

Volume 16

Volume 17

Volume 18

Volume 19

Volume 20

Volume 22
Part 1

Volume 22
Part 2

Volume 23

Volume 24

Volume 26

Volume 27





Annual Reports 1935-1944

Annual Reports 1945- 1947

Corpus Inscriptionum Indicarum Volume 2, Part 2

Corpus Inscriptionum Indicarum Volume 7, Part 3

Kalachuri-Chedi Era Part 1

Kalachuri-Chedi Era Part 2

Epigraphica Indica

Epigraphia Indica Volume 3

Indica Volume 4

Epigraphia Indica Volume 6

Epigraphia Indica Volume 7

Epigraphia Indica Volume 8

Epigraphia Indica Volume 27

Epigraphia Indica Volume 29

Epigraphia Indica Volume 30

Epigraphia Indica Volume 31

Epigraphia Indica Volume 32

Paramaras Volume 7, Part 2

Śilāhāras Volume 6, Part 2

Vākāṭakas Volume 5

Early Gupta Inscriptions

Archaeological Links

Archaeological-Survey of India




.. North and South Koṇkaṇs were previously under the rule of dynasties speaking dialects derived from Sanskrit. So, though their rulers, the Śilāhāras, were Kannaḍa-speaking, the territorial terms in vogue in the country under their rule were derived from. Sanskrit. In the country above the ghāṭs, however, Kannaḍa was the language of most of the inhabitants. So the territorial terms in that region were derived from Kannaḍa. The dēśa was there divided into nāḍas or khollas. Thus the territory round Kolhāpur was known as Eḍenāḍa[1]. It had several khollas or gollas. Some of them are known from Śilāhāra records, viz. Paṇutaragekholla[2], Ājirage-kholla[3] and perhaps Kavaḍe-golla[4] also. Another Kannaḍa territorial term noticed is khampaṅa or gampaṇa, which denoted a group of villages. See e.g. Miriñje-. gampaṇa[5] and Koḍavalli-khampaṇa[6]. Dēśas, vishaya and khollas are sometimes named together with the numbers of the villages comprised in them. Thus, three was the Shaṭshashṭivishaya,[7] comprising sixty-six villages, corresponding to modern Sāshṭī tālukā. As several divisions had sixty-six villages, in them, some prefix was used to distinguish them from one another. We have thus the Śūrpāraka-shaṭshashṭi,[8] comprising sixty-six villages, of which Śūrpāraka (modern Sopārā), was the headquarters. The sub-division which comprised Sthānaka, the capital of North Koṅkaṇ, was known as Sthānak-ābhyantara-shaṭshashṭi[9] or even Abhyantara-shaṭshashṭi.[10] Some other divisions comprising sixty-six villages are also known. See e.g. Māhirihāra-shaṭshashti.[11] The sub-division Kōriyala-dvādaśaka[12] contained only twelve villages. The villages traditionally known as comprised in bigger divisions like the dēśa are also known. We have already noticed that North Koṅkaṇ contained 1400, and South Koṅkaṇ 900 villages. The Miriñja-dēśa, which was much smaller, is said to have comprised of 3,000 villages,[13] and was, therefore, called Sahasra-tritaya-Miriñja-dēśa. The Karahāṭa-dēśa had 4,000 villages.[14] These numbers were, of course, conventional.

.. The vishayas and khollas comprised nagaras or towns, and grāmas or villages. Very few towns in the kingdoms of the Śilāhāras find mention in their inscriptions. They are Śūrpāraka, the earliest capital of North Koṅkaṇ, Purī,[15] its capital in the early historical times, Sthānaka,[16] the capital of the Northern Śilāhāras, Chēmūlya,[17] modern Chaul in the Kolābā District, Balipattana,[18] the capital of the Southern Śilāhāras, Praṇālaka,[19] the capital of the northern division of South Koṅkaṇ, Kollāpura[20] (also called Khullakapura[21]), the capital of the branch ruling over the country above the ghāṭs, and Karahāṭa,[22] the headquarters of

[1] No. 45, line 25.
[2] No. 54, lines 14-15 ; No. 58, line 26.
[3] No. 53, line 18.
[4] No. 49, lines 10 and 23.
[5] No. 46. line 46.
[6] No. 48, line 30.
[7] No. 26, line 4.
[8] No. 14, lines 147-48.
[9] No. 9, line 41.
[10] No. 14, line 99.
[11] No. 11, line 52.
[12] No. 13, line 62.
[13] No. 43, lines 46-47.
[14] E.H.D., I, p. 56.
[15] Ep. Ind., Vol. VI, pp. 1 f.
[16] No. 6, line 59.
[17] No. 41, line 29.
[18] No. 41, line 25.
[19] No. 23, line 43.
[20] No. 48, line 25.
[21] No. 53, line 19.
[22] No. 14, line 61.


<< - 1 Page