The Indian Analyst

North Indian Inscriptions







List of Maps and Plates


Additions and Corrections



Political History

The Early Silaharas

The Silaharas of North Konkan

The Silaharas of South Konkan

The Silaharas of Kolhapur


Religious Condition

Social Condition

Economic Condition


Architecture and Sculpture

Texts And Translations  

Inscriptions of the Silaharas of North Konkan

Inscriptions of The Silaharas of South Konkan

Inscriptions of The Silaharas of kolhapur


Additional Inscriptions of the Silaharas


A contemporary Yadava Inscription


Other South-Indian Inscriptions 

Volume 1

Volume 2

Volume 3

Vol. 4 - 8

Volume 9

Volume 10

Volume 11

Volume 12

Volume 13

Volume 14

Volume 15

Volume 16

Volume 17

Volume 18

Volume 19

Volume 20

Volume 22
Part 1

Volume 22
Part 2

Volume 23

Volume 24

Volume 26

Volume 27





Annual Reports 1935-1944

Annual Reports 1945- 1947

Corpus Inscriptionum Indicarum Volume 2, Part 2

Corpus Inscriptionum Indicarum Volume 7, Part 3

Kalachuri-Chedi Era Part 1

Kalachuri-Chedi Era Part 2

Epigraphica Indica

Epigraphia Indica Volume 3

Indica Volume 4

Epigraphia Indica Volume 6

Epigraphia Indica Volume 7

Epigraphia Indica Volume 8

Epigraphia Indica Volume 27

Epigraphia Indica Volume 29

Epigraphia Indica Volume 30

Epigraphia Indica Volume 31

Epigraphia Indica Volume 32

Paramaras Volume 7, Part 2

Śilāhāras Volume 6, Part 2

Vākāṭakas Volume 5

Early Gupta Inscriptions

Archaeological Links

Archaeological-Survey of India




.. The territory under the rule of the Śilāhāras comprised three regions : (1) North Koṅkaṇ called Purī-Kōṅkaṇa [1] after its ancient capital Purī, or Kavaḍī-dvīpa [2] after Kapardin I, the founder of the Śilāhāra branch ruling there, which is described as containing 1400 villages and which comprised the modern Ṭhāṇā and Kolābā districts. In an earlier record of the Hariśchandrīya king Bhōgaśakti, the number of villages is stated to be 14,000; [3] (2) South Koṅkaṇ, which comprised the modern Ratnāgiri District, was also as Sapta-Kōṅkaṇa, [4] and was traditionally known as comprising 900 villages; [5] and (3) the country above the ghaṭs, east of the Ratnāgiri District, comprising the modern districts of Sātārā, Kolhāpur, Miraj, Sānglī, and Beḷgaon. These three countries were divided into smaller divisions and subdivisions for administrative purposes.

.. The largest administrative unit was the dēśa. Thus, the Pūnakadēśa [6] comprised the territory round Poonā, Mairiñjā-dēśa [7] that round modern Miraj, and Kuṇḍi-dēśa that round modern Beḷgāon. Kōṅkana, which comprised several dēśas was called Mahā-dēśa. [8] The dēśas were previously divided into rāshṭras. Some early Śilāhāra records [9] in North Koṅkaṇ mention the rāshṭrapati among the officers to whom the royal order about the grants was communicated, following the earlier drafts of the formal portions of copper-plate grants, but no divisions of that name find mention in Śilāhāra records. The dēśas were divided into vishayas in North and south Koṅkaṇ. Several vishayas are mentioned in the records of the Śilāhāras. Thus, we have the Pāṇḍa-vishaya [10], Chikkhalāḍa-vishaya [11], Māhirihāra-vishaya [12] (probably identical with the earlier Mahāgirihāra-vishaya [13]), Varēṭikā-vishaya, [14] Shaṭshashṭi-vishaya [15] (so called because of its containing sixty-six villages), Aṇitapallā-vishaya, [16] Karakūṭa-vishaya, [17] Mandaraja-vishaya [18] and Kaṭashaḍī-vishaya. [19] As very few Śilāhāra records from South Koṅkaṇ have been found, only few vishayas from that region are Known. When the Śilāhāras of North Koṅkaṇ extended their power to South Koṅkaṇ, they made Praṇāla-(or Pānāla-) dēśa comprising the territory round Panhāḷe in the Dāpolī tālukā of the Ratnāgiri District, the centre of their power. This region is called Praṇālaka-vishaya [20] in one record. The Chipulaṇavishaya is mentioned in an earlier grant.

[1] No. 9, lines 20-21.
[2] Ep. Ind., Vol. XIII, pp. 316 and 323.
[3] C.I.I., Vol. IV, p. 149.
[4] Ep. Ind., Vol. XIV.
[5] Fleet, Dyn. Kan. Distr. p. 282.
[6] No. 5, line 40.
[7] No. 43, line 11.
[8] No. 43, line 12.
[9] No. 9, line 25.
[10] No. 4, line 44; No. 61, p. 275.
[11] No. 5, line 61.
[12] No. 7, lines 56-57.
[13] C.I.I., Vol. IV, p. 150.
[14] No. 14, line 76.
[15] No. 26, line 4.
[16] No. 21, lines 10-11.
[17] No. 20, line 62.
[18] No. 15, line 72.
[19] No. 29, line 14.
[20] No. 23, line 71.


Page 2 - >>